For a 15-inch-wide cavity needing R-19 insulation, check both the batt width and whether it has a facing: the listed Owens Corning R-19 15-inch batt is unfaced, not faced. The options below include the closest R-19 match, faced alternatives with different dimensions or unspecified R-value, and a 15-inch R-21 option. Confirm framing dimensions and vapor-control requirements before buying.
| Product | Best For | Key Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Owens Corning R-19 Unfaced, 15 x 93 inches | 15-inch cavities needing R-19 | 77.5 sq. ft. per bag; no facing |
| Owens Corning R-19, 10 bags | Larger projects | 775 sq. ft.; width not specified |
| Owens Corning R-19 Kraft-Faced | 16-inch-wide framing | 16 x 96 inches; 853.3 sq. ft. |
| R-21 Unfaced, 15 x 93 inches | 15-inch cavities needing higher R-value | 77.5 sq. ft. per pack |
| Owens Corning BF40, 15 x 93 inches | 15-inch cavities where facing is wanted | Eight faced batts; R-value unspecified |
Owens Corning R-19 Unfaced 15-Inch Batts

Best for: Buyers who need R-19 batts sized for a 15-inch cavity and already have a separate plan for moisture control. Each bag covers 77.5 square feet and contains eight batts measuring 15 by 93 inches. The listed thickness is 6.5 inches, and the product is described for deeper 2×6 walls or retrofit applications.
This is the clearest match in the list for the requested 15-inch width and R-19 value. However, it is unfaced, so choose it only when a facing is not required for the installation. The listing says it has no vapor barrier.
Owens Corning R-19 Fiberglass Batt, 10 Bags

Best for: Buyers insulating a larger area who need the listed 775 square feet of R-19 fiberglass batts. The product name describes insulation for 2×6 floors or walls and a 10-bag quantity.
The available product information does not specify batt width, facing, thickness, or individual bag coverage. That makes this a less certain choice for a 15-inch cavity than the 15-by-93-inch option above. Confirm the package dimensions and facing before selecting it for a project that requires a precise fit or a faced batt.
Owens Corning R-19 Kraft-Faced 16-Inch Batts

Best for: Buyers who want R-19 fiberglass with kraft facing for framing that matches the listed 16-inch width. The product information gives dimensions of 16 inches wide by 96 inches long and 6.25 inches thick. Ten bags are listed for a total coverage of 853.3 square feet.
This is the faced R-19 option with the clearest dimensions, but it is listed as 16 inches wide—not 15 inches. Do not assume it will fit a 15-inch cavity without checking the product instructions and actual framing. Choose it when the intended cavity and installation requirements match its listed size.
R-21 Unfaced Fiberglass, 15-Inch Batts

Best for: Buyers whose priority is a 15-inch fit and an R-value higher than R-19. The listing specifies 15-by-93-inch batts, 5.5 inches thick, with eight pieces and 77.5 square feet of coverage per pack. It is described as suitable for 2×6 walls.
This is a dimensional alternative rather than an R-19 product: its stated rating is R-21. It is also unfaced, so it is not the right choice when a faced batt is specifically required. Compare the specified R-value and cavity depth with the project plan before substituting it for R-19.
Owens Corning BF40 Faced 15-Inch Batts

Best for: Buyers looking for faced batts with a listed 15-by-93-inch size. The product details specify eight faced batts, making this a potentially relevant option when facing is part of the requirement.
The provided details do not state this product’s R-value, thickness, or coverage. Do not treat it as confirmed R-19 insulation based on the available information alone. Check the package label or full product specifications to verify its thermal rating and suitability for the intended cavity.
Buying Guide
Does a 15-inch batt mean it is faced?
No. Width describes the batt dimension, while faced or unfaced describes whether it has a facing layer. The listed R-19 batt sized 15 by 93 inches is unfaced. The BF40 listing says it has faced batts, but does not provide an R-value.
How should I check fit?
Compare the product’s stated width and length with the cavity dimensions and the manufacturer’s installation directions. The R-19 kraft-faced option is 16 inches wide, while the clearest 15-inch R-19 option is unfaced. Do not assume a 16-inch batt is interchangeable with a 15-inch batt.
Should I choose R-19 or R-21?
Choose based on the project’s specified thermal resistance and available cavity depth. The R-21 product is 15 inches wide and 5.5 inches thick; the R-19 15-inch product is listed as 6.5 inches thick. They are not identical substitutes.
How much coverage should I buy?
Estimate the area to insulate and compare it with the stated package coverage. The two clearly specified 15-inch options provide 77.5 square feet per pack. Allow for the actual cavity layout and follow the product’s installation instructions.
What should I verify for faced insulation?
Confirm the R-value, dimensions, and facing type from the package or full listing. Facing and vapor-control needs depend on the installation; the product details provided here do not establish which facing is appropriate for every location.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the listed 15-inch Owens Corning R-19 batt faced?
No. Its product details identify it as unfaced, with no vapor barrier.
Which listed product clearly combines R-19 and a 15-inch width?
The Owens Corning R-19 Unfaced Fiberglass Insulation is listed as 15 by 93 inches and R-19.
Is the R-19 kraft-faced option 15 inches wide?
No. Its listed width is 16 inches, so verify fit before considering it for a 15-inch cavity.
Is the BF40 product confirmed as R-19?
The provided product details do not specify its R-value. Check the package or full specifications before buying it as R-19 insulation.