Best Fire-Rated Glass Door Options and Closers for Residential Use

For a residential fire-rated glass door, verify the complete door assembly’s fire rating before buying: none of the glass-door listings below provides enough information to confirm that it is fire-rated. The POWAWINI closers do state a UL 3-hour fire rating, but that rating applies to the closer, not to a door or glass panel. The products below are most useful for comparing closing hardware and interior glass-door styles; confirm local code requirements and product documentation before installation.

Product Best suited for Key detail
POWAWINI Grade 1 Closer Heavy-duty closing hardware UL 3-hour rating stated for the closer
Boomerang D703 Closer Medium-duty applications Three adjustable valves
POWAWINI Grade 3 Closer Residential and light-duty use UL 3-hour rating stated for the closer
64 x 80 Double Glass Doors Wide interior openings Full-clear-glass style; fire rating unverified
36 x 80 Half-Lite Door Slab Single interior doorway Half-lite design; fire rating unverified

POWAWINI Grade 1 Heavy-Duty Door Closer

POWAWINI Grade 1 heavy-duty automatic door closer

Check Price on Amazon

This is the strongest-duty closer in the supplied list. The manufacturer describes a sprayed-aluminum body, steel arm, high-strength spring, and testing for 2,000,000 cycles. Listed features include a UL 3-hour fire rating, ANSI certification, adjustable closing and latching speeds, and backcheck to limit forceful opening.

Best for: Buyers who need heavy-duty closing hardware for a residential or commercial door and want adjustable operation. It was selected for its stated cycle testing and closer rating. Limitation: These claims do not establish that a glass door, frame, or complete assembly is fire-rated; verify the intended door’s approved hardware requirements.

Boomerang D703 Medium-Duty Closer

Boomerang D703 medium-duty automatic door closer

Check Price on Amazon

The D703 has three valves for adjusting closing speed, latching speed, and backcheck. Its listed construction includes cast aluminum, a wrought-steel arm, a heat-treated piston, and a powder-coated body. The product description specifies doors up to 150 pounds and 36 inches wide, and says it is compatible with standard metal, glass, wood, and fire doors.

Best for: Buyers seeking a medium-duty closer with separate adjustment controls for a door within the stated size and weight limits. Limitation: The listing does not state a fire-resistance duration for this closer. Its claimed compatibility with fire doors does not certify a door assembly or establish code approval.

POWAWINI Grade 3 Spring Hydraulic Closer

POWAWINI Grade 3 spring hydraulic automatic door closer

Check Price on Amazon

This medium-duty closer is listed as tested for 500,000 cycles and has a stated UL 3-hour fire rating. Features include a sprayed-aluminum body, steel arm and spring, heat-treated piston, and hydraulic closing action. The description says it is designed for residential doors made of wood or metal, as well as fire-rated doors, and supports interior and exterior applications.

Best for: Homes, apartments, condos, or rental properties needing a medium-duty closer with controlled closing. It was selected as a residential-focused alternative to the Grade 1 model. Limitation: The listed materials mention wood and metal doors, but do not confirm suitability for a specific glass door or assembly.

64 x 80 Full-Clear-Glass Double Doors

64 by 80 interior double doors with clear glass

This listing describes 64-by-80-inch interior double doors with full clear glass. That style may suit a wide interior opening where visibility and light are priorities. The supplied product information does not specify a fire rating, fire-rated glazing, or tested assembly details.

Best for: Buyers comparing a full-glass interior double-door style for a non-rated opening. It was selected because it is the clearest match to the glass-door portion of the search. Limitation: Do not treat this listing as a fire-rated option without documentation confirming the rating for the complete door system.

36 x 80 Half-Lite Glass Door Slab

36 by 80 interior door slab with half-lite clear glass

This 36-by-80-inch interior door slab is described as a half-lite clear-glass pantry or room door. Compared with the full-glass double-door option, it has a smaller glass area and is listed as a single slab. The supplied details do not identify fire-rated glass or a fire-resistance rating.

Best for: Buyers seeking a single interior door with a partial clear-glass panel. It was selected as a single-door style comparison. Limitation: The listing information provided does not confirm that the slab is suitable for a fire-rated opening.

Buying Guide: Choosing Residential Fire-Rated Glass Doors

How can you confirm that a glass door is fire-rated?

Ask for documentation identifying the fire rating of the complete assembly, including the door, glazing, frame, and required hardware. A closer’s fire-rating claim alone does not make the door or glass fire-rated. Check that the documentation matches the exact product configuration and the opening’s requirements.

What should you compare in a door closer?

Compare the stated door size and weight limits, duty level, adjustment controls, and any fire-related documentation. The POWAWINI Grade 1 model lists 2,000,000-cycle testing, while the Grade 3 model lists 500,000 cycles. The Boomerang D703 specifies up to 150 pounds and 36 inches wide, plus three adjustment valves. Confirm the closer is approved for the specific door assembly.

Does clear or half-lite glass indicate fire protection?

No. Glass appearance and panel size do not establish fire performance. The two interior door listings describe clear-glass designs but provide no fire-rating information in the supplied details. Treat them as unverified for rated openings unless the seller or manufacturer supplies matching documentation.

What measurements should you take before ordering?

Measure the opening, existing door, and required swing and hardware locations. Compare those measurements with the exact product specifications; do not assume a listed door size is the same as the rough opening size. For a rated opening, also confirm that the proposed components meet local code and installation requirements.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are any of these listed glass doors confirmed fire-rated?

No. The supplied information for both glass-door listings does not state a fire rating.

Does a UL 3-hour-rated closer mean the door is rated for three hours?

No. The stated rating applies to the closer as described, not automatically to the glass, door, frame, or complete assembly.

Which listed closer is described as heavy-duty?

The POWAWINI Grade 1 closer is described as heavy-duty and tested for 2,000,000 cycles.

Which glass-door listing is for a single door?

The 36-by-80-inch half-lite listing describes a single interior door slab.

Should local requirements be checked before purchase?

Yes. Confirm the required rating and approved components with the local building department or a qualified professional before installing a door in a required fire-rated opening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *