The best barn style door hardware depends on your door’s width, thickness, weight, and the track length you need. For a 36- to 40-inch door, the SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-foot kits offer steel construction and clearly stated fit ranges; the CCJH kit is best for buyers prioritizing higher listed weight capacity. The SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-foot heavy-duty kit includes handles and floor guides, while its other 6.8-foot option emphasizes a coated track and DIY instructions. The door is not included with the SMARTSTANDARD kits.
| Kit | Best For | Key Listed Detail |
|---|---|---|
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.8 FT, alloy steel | DIY installation | Pre-drilled track and illustrated manual |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.8 FT, heavy duty | Buyers wanting included accessories | 150–220 lb capacity; handles and floor guides |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.6 FT, solid steel | Heavier doors in the stated size range | Up to 260 lb capacity |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.6 FT, powder-coated steel | Classic complete kit | Up to 220 lb capacity; handle included |
| CCJH 6 FT, I-shape hanger | Higher listed weight capacity | Up to 330 lb capacity |
SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-Foot Alloy Steel Kit

This kit is best for homeowners who want a straightforward hardware package and installation guidance. Its alloy-steel track has a black powder-coated finish, which the product description says resists rust, moisture, and dust. The track is pre-drilled with 16-inch hole spacing to match wall studs, and the package includes an illustrated step-by-step manual.
The kit includes spliced track sections, two rollers, two door stoppers, two anti-jump blocks, mounting screws, and anchors. The product description reports 100,000 open-and-close cycles for the track and rollers. Choose this option if DIY instructions and a coated track are priorities. Limitation: The door panel is not included, and this listing does not state a door-weight capacity.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-Foot Heavy-Duty Kit

This kit is best for buyers who want several useful accessories included with the track. It has an aluminum-alloy track and nylon rollers described as tested for 100,000 cycles. The package includes two rollers, two stoppers, two anti-jump blocks, two handles, two floor guides, and mounting hardware.
The stated capacity is 150–220 pounds, with a door-width fit of 36–40 inches and thickness of 1 3/8 or 1 3/4 inches. The product description says it can pair with wood, glass, and MDF doors. Choose it if those dimensions suit your door and having handles and floor guides in the package is useful. Limitation: The door is not included, and the capacity is given as a range; confirm your door’s weight before choosing.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-Foot Solid Steel Kit

This kit is best for shoppers seeking a solid-steel track with a higher stated capacity than the other SMARTSTANDARD options here. It uses two 3.3-foot rails and lists a maximum door weight of 260 pounds. The stated fit is for doors 36–40 inches wide and 1 3/8 or 1 3/4 inches thick.
Included components are rail spacers, two rollers, two door stops, two end caps, a floor guide, a hex key, and other necessary hardware. The listing says the kit is intended for 16-inch studs and can be paired with wood, glass, or MDF doors. Choose this option if your door fits the listed dimensions and its weight is within the stated limit. Limitation: The door panel is not included.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-Foot Powder-Coated Kit

This is best for buyers wanting a steel kit with a stated 220-pound capacity and a handle included. The solid-steel track has a black powder-coated surface described as corrosion-resistant. Its listed fit is for doors up to 36–40 inches wide and 1 3/8–1 3/4 inches thick. The product description also reports that its bearing passed 100,000 opening-and-closing cycles.
The package includes two 3.3-foot rails, five spacers, two rollers, two stops, two end caps, a floor guide, a handle, a hex key, screws, and bolts. The listing says it is suitable for 16-inch studs. Choose it if you want these listed components and your door stays within the capacity and dimensions. Limitation: The door is not included.
CCJH 6-Foot I-Shape Hanger Kit

This kit is best for buyers whose leading requirement is a higher stated door-weight limit. The product description lists a maximum capacity of 330 pounds and identifies a solid-steel roller hanger and industrial-grade flat track. It also describes nylon wheels and quiet-damping stoppers for smooth, quiet movement.
The listing presents the hardware as a space-saving choice for homes, offices, narrow hallways, and smaller apartments. Choose it if its 6-foot track suits your layout and the higher listed capacity matches your door. Limitation: The supplied details do not specify a door-width or thickness range, or enumerate all package contents. Check those details before purchasing.
Buying Guide: How To Choose Barn Door Hardware
What track length and door width should I look for?
Start with the door width and the available wall space. The four SMARTSTANDARD kits list fit for doors 36–40 inches wide, while the first 6.8-foot listing is described as fitting a 40-inch-wide panel. The CCJH product has a 6-foot track, but its supplied details do not state a door-width range. Check the product listing and measure the opening and adjacent wall before selecting a track.
How much weight capacity do I need?
Check the door’s actual weight and select hardware with a stated capacity that meets or exceeds it. Among these products, the listed limits are 220 pounds, 260 pounds, and up to 330 pounds; one kit gives a 150–220-pound range, and one does not specify capacity in the supplied details. Do not assume that track length alone indicates the weight limit.
Which materials and included parts matter?
Track materials include alloy steel, aluminum alloy, and solid steel, depending on the kit. Compare the listed components, especially handles, floor guides, stops, and anti-jump blocks, because package contents differ. Also confirm door thickness, stud spacing, and mounting requirements. A kit may provide installation hardware and still require you to buy the door separately.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do these barn door hardware kits include a door?
No. The SMARTSTANDARD listings explicitly say the door panel is not included. Check the package description for any kit before ordering.
Can I use these kits with a glass door?
Two SMARTSTANDARD listings state that their hardware can be paired with glass doors. Confirm the door’s weight and thickness fit the kit’s stated limits before purchase.
What does a floor guide do?
A floor guide helps guide the door along its path. Several listed kits include one, but the included components vary by product.
Why check door thickness before buying?
Hardware is designed for particular door dimensions. The SMARTSTANDARD kits with stated measurements specify 1 3/8- or 1 3/4-inch doors, so compare those figures with your door before selecting a kit.