The best barn door hanging kit depends on your door’s width, thickness, weight, and preferred finish. These five options are designed for single doors about 36 to 40 inches wide, with differences in track material, included hardware, and stated weight capacity. The SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-foot solid-steel kit is best for buyers prioritizing a higher listed capacity; the 6.8-foot kit with aluminum-alloy track includes handles and a floor guide; and the EaseLife kit offers a brushed-nickel finish. All five are hardware kits, not door panels.
| Kit | Best For | Listed Capacity |
|---|---|---|
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-foot alloy-steel kit | Rust- and moisture-resistant finish | Not specified |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-foot heavy-duty kit | Included handles and floor guides | 150–220 lb |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-foot carbon-steel kit | Higher stated maximum capacity | 260 lb |
| SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-foot solid-steel kit | Black finish and 220-pound capacity | 220 lb |
| EaseLife 6.7-foot brushed-nickel kit | Brushed-nickel appearance | 220 lb |
SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-Foot Alloy-Steel Kit

This kit is best for buyers who want a black powder-coated track and a straightforward hardware package for a door panel up to 40 inches wide. Its track is described as alloy steel with a finish intended to resist rust, moisture, and dust. The listed components include spliced track sections, two rollers, two door stoppers, two anti-jump blocks, and mounting screws and anchors.
The product information says the track and rollers were tested for 100,000 open-and-close cycles and notes that the track is pre-drilled with standard 16-inch hole spacing. The included illustrated instructions may suit a DIY installation. Choose this option if those features match your wall and door setup. The door is not included, and the supplied information does not state a weight capacity, so verify the kit’s capacity before buying for a heavy door.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.8-Foot Heavy-Duty Kit

This is best for shoppers who want a 36- to 40-inch door fit and a kit that includes handles and two floor guides. The package also lists spliced track sections, two rollers, two door stoppers, two anti-jump blocks, screws, and anchors. Its aluminum-alloy track and nylon rollers are described as durable and quiet, with the rollers tested for 100,000 cycles.
The stated weight capacity is 150 to 220 pounds, and the listed compatible door thickness is 1 3/8 to 1 3/4 inches. The product description names wood, glass, and MDF doors as possible panel types, but buyers should still confirm their specific door meets the weight and size limits. The door panel is not included, and the broad capacity range makes checking the exact requirements especially important.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-Foot Carbon-Steel Kit

Choose this kit if the stated 260-pound maximum capacity is a priority and your door is 36 to 40 inches wide. It uses carbon steel and is described as having a solid internal structure intended to resist bending and deformation. The package includes two 3.3-foot rails, five rail spacers, two rollers, two door stops, two end caps, a floor guide, a hex key, and other necessary hardware.
The listing specifies doors 1 3/8 to 1 3/4 inches thick and says the kit is intended for 16-inch studs. Its two-piece track may be useful when assembling a 6.6-foot rail, but it requires joining the sections. The door is not included. Confirm that the wall and mounting locations suit the specified stud spacing and that the door’s measured weight stays within the stated limit.
SMARTSTANDARD 6.6-Foot Solid-Steel Kit

This kit is best for buyers seeking a solid-steel track with a black powder-coated surface and a clearly stated 220-pound door capacity. It fits doors 36 to 40 inches wide and 1 3/8 to 1 3/4 inches thick. The package lists two 3.3-foot rails, five spacers, two rollers, two door stops, two end caps, a floor guide, one handle, a hex key, and mounting hardware.
The listing says the bearing was tested for 100,000 opening-and-closing cycles and identifies 16-inch stud spacing as suitable. This is a better fit than the previous option when a 220-pound capacity meets the door’s needs and an included handle is useful. Avoid choosing it for a door outside the stated width, thickness, or weight range. The door itself is not included.
EaseLife 6.7-Foot Brushed-Nickel Kit

This is best for buyers who prefer a brushed-nickel finish rather than a black track. The steel kit is listed for doors up to 40 inches wide, 1 3/8 to 1 3/4 inches thick, and up to 220 pounds. Its package includes five 1.33-foot track sections, five spacers, two rollers, two door stops, a floor guide, and two anti-pad components.
The listing describes the ball-bearing rollers as smooth and quiet and says they were tested beyond 100,000 rolls. It also identifies the kit as suitable for modern or rustic spaces. The main consideration is its five-section track construction, which requires assembling multiple pieces. The door panel is not included, so factor that into the purchase and installation plan.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Barn Door Hanging Kit
What door width and thickness should you check?
Measure the door panel before selecting a kit. These five products are generally listed for doors between 36 and 40 inches wide, but check each listing because stated fit ranges differ. The four kits with thickness information specify 1 3/8 to 1 3/4 inches. Do not assume a door fits based only on its width.
How much weight capacity do you need?
Compare the door’s actual weight with the kit’s stated capacity. The supplied specifications list 260 pounds for the carbon-steel kit, 220 pounds for two kits, and 150 to 220 pounds for the aluminum-alloy kit. The first product’s information does not provide a capacity. If a capacity is missing or the door is near the stated limit, confirm suitability before installation.
Which hardware should be included?
Compare package contents against the parts your installation needs. Handles, floor guides, anti-jump blocks, end caps, and stoppers vary among the kits. All five descriptions say the door is not included. Check whether your plan calls for a separate handle or guide, and review the product’s hardware checklist before starting.
Does track material or finish matter?
Material and appearance can help narrow the choice: the options include alloy steel, carbon steel, solid steel, aluminum alloy, and steel with a brushed-nickel surface. The listings also describe black powder-coated finishes on selected kits. Match the finish to the room, while giving priority to fit, mounting requirements, and weight capacity.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do these barn door kits include the door?
No. Each product description identifies the package as hardware or track only, with the door panel sold separately.
Will these kits fit a 36-inch door?
Several listings specify a door width range of 36 to 40 inches, while others state a maximum width of 40 inches. Confirm the exact fit range for the kit you choose.
Are mounting parts included?
Each listing describes included installation hardware, but the specific components differ. Review the package contents for items such as screws, anchors, spacers, floor guides, and handles.
Do I need 16-inch wall studs?
Some SMARTSTANDARD listings specify 16-inch stud spacing or pre-drilled holes for that spacing. Check the selected kit’s instructions and your wall layout before installation.